PE License Renewal
Military Service Members (Military Veteran or Military Spouse)
ECHO available for online profile management and payment processing.
ECHO available for online profile management and payment processing. ECHO is the new on-line license profile system. With this convenient system, you can: Instantly Change Your Contact Information Enter and Record Your CEP Hours Quickly Change Your Employment Information Pay by Credit Card When Your License is Up for Renewal
Starting January 1, 2014, by law, all license applications and all renewals of active licenses will require a one-time criminal history record check to be done at the applicant or licensee’s expense. Senate Bill 204 passed by the 83rd Texas Legislature modified the Texas Engineering Practice Act to require this procedural change. See more information at https://engineers.texas.gov/recordcheck.html.
(a) A person who is otherwise eligible to renew a license may renew an unexpired license by paying the required annual renewal fee to the Board before the expiration date of the license. A person whose license has expired may not engage in activities that require a license until the license has been renewed. (b) A person whose license has been expired for 90 days or less may renew the license by paying to the Board the required annual renewal fee, a late renewal fee and any applicable increase in fees as required by Section 1001.206. (c) A person whose license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than two years may renew the license by paying to the Board the required annual renewal fee, a late renewal fee and any applicable increase in fees as required by Section 1001.206 for each delinquent year or part of a year. (d) A person whose license has been expired for two years or more may not renew the license. The person may obtain a new license by complying with the requirements and procedures, including the examination requirements, for obtaining an original license.
Renewal Requirements - If you do not renew your license on or before the expiration date, you must cease and desist the practice of engineering and all professional engineering representations until such time as your license is brought into a current status. In accordance with the Texas Engineering Practice Act, Sections 1001.353, a person whose license has been expired for 90 days or less may renew the license by paying to the board the annual renewal fee, a late renewal fee that has been set by the Board, and any applicable increase in fees as required by Section 1001.206. The Board has set this late renewal fee at $40. A person whose license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than two years may renew the license by paying to the board the annual renewal fee, a late renewal fee that has been set by the Board, and any applicable increase in fees as required by Section 1001.206. The Board has set this late renewal fee at an additional $40, for a total of $80. If your license remains expired for two years or longer, you will not be able to renew it. You will be required to file a new application and comply with the current licensure rules. Renewal notices are mailed to the address shown on your last renewal statement. You are responsible for notifying the board of each address change as it occurs. Failure to notify the Board of your mailing address change is a violation of Board rules.
Renewal of Expired License by Out-of-State Practitioner - A person who was licensed in this state, moved to another state, and is currently licensed and has been in practice in the other state for the two years preceding the date of application may obtain a new license without reexamination. The person must pay to the board a fee that is equal to two times the normally required renewal fee for the license.
Student Loan Default is Grounds for Nonrenewal of Professional License - Effective September 1, 1989, corporations are responsible for notifying the Board of any PE who has defaulted on student loans guaranteed by the corporation. A licensing agency shall not renew the license of a licensee whose name is on the list provided by the corporation unless the renewal is the first renewal following the agency's receipt of the list including the licensee's name among those in default or prior arrangements have been made with the corporation. A written notice issued by the loan corporation is required in order to reinstate licensure.
Notification Requirements - Due to Changes §137.5
Notification of Address Change, Employer Change, and Criminal Convictions (a) Each license holder shall notify the Board in writing not later than 30 days after of a change in the person;s personal mailing address or employment status. (b) A notice informing the Board of a change in employment status shall include, as applicable, the: (1) full legal trade or business name of the association or employment, (2) physical location and mailing address of the business, (3) telephone number of the business office, (4) type of business (corporation, assumed name, partnership, or self-employment through use of own name), (5) legal relationship and position of responsibility within the business, (6) effective date of this change; and (7) reason for this notification (changed employment or retired; firm went out of business or changed its name or location, etc.). (c) Each license holder shall notify the Board in writing not later than 30 days after a misdemeanor or felony criminal conviction.
Continuing Education Program (CEP) - Section 1001.210 and 137.17 - CEP hours are required for renewals. You must certify that you have met the CEP requirements for renewal or that you are exempt due to one of the indicated reasons. Do not submit your CEP documentation at this time. If your license is audited, you will need to provide the supporting documentation to the Board. You will need to maintain your CEP documentation for 3 years. CEP Exemptions - Section 137.17 Inactive Status Exemption - An engineer may request inactive status at any time before the expiration date of the person's license. A license holder in inactive status is exempt from the continuing education requirement. An application for inactive status is required. The form is available on our website. Disabled - Individuals who are disabled qualify for a disability exemption and are exempt from the continuing education requirement. A physicians statement is required. Military - A license holder serving on active duty and deployed outside the United States is exempt from the continuing education requirement. Exam First Renewal - New license holders by way of examination are exempt from the continuing education requirement during their first renewal period. Continuing Education was required for renewal beginning in calendar year 2005. Please visit our Continuing Education Page for the latest information on the Continuing Education Program.
(a) An engineer may request inactive status at any time before the expiration date of the person's license. A license holder on inactive status may not practice engineering. (b) A license holder on inactive status must pay an annual fee set by the board. (c) A license holder on inactive status is not required to: (1) comply with the continuing education requirements adopted by the board; or (2) take an examination for reinstatement to active status. (d) To return to active status, a license holder on inactive status must: - (1) file with the board a written notice requesting reinstatement to active status; (2) pay the fee for the annual renewal of the license and the fee increase required by Section 1001.206; and (3) provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the person has complied with the continuing education requirements adopted by the board. Please visit the Inactive Status Page for the latest information and links to the forms necessary.
Note: To return to active status, the P.E. must submit Board provided forms requesting reinstatement to active status, pay the fee for annual renewal; comply with the continuing education program requirements for inactive license holders returning to practice and submit fingerprints for the criminal history record check (if not previously submitted). Violation of the inactive status is subject to disciplinary action by the board.