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% Texas Engineers
* % Continuing Education
Program(CEP)

#The 78th Texas Legidature in SB 277

requires 15 hours of continuing
education annually




What goes Where?

# Engineering Practice Act was Texas Civil Statues,
Article 3271a.

# /8th Legislature SB 277, Section 17 set forth
requirements for Continuing Education.

# Continuing Education requirement is part of the

Occupation Code, Chap 1001.210.

# [BPE promulgating rules to implement. (Current
Rule 131.139, will become Rule 137.17 in recodified
rules)

# Rules have been approved at January Board
meeting. Published in Jan 30, 2004 Texas Register




Timeline for Implementation

# November 7, 2003 - Proposed rules
published in Texas Register

#* January 15, 2004 - TBPE Board adopted
rules. Effective Jan 15, 2004.

# Y ou may start counting your CEP asof
September 1, 2003

# M ar ch 2005 - PDHs required for license
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What does it mean to You?

# Similar to previous Voluntary program

# Used NCEES model and other state
boards for base

#* Self determination of CEP activities

# Required record keeping and retention
# Possibility of audit by TBPE

|V B4
R A




Definitions

# PDH Professional Development hour - a
contact hour of CEP

# CEU Continuing Education Unit -
Continuing education unit of credit

# Course/Activity - Any qualifying course
or activity which will maintain, improve
expand skill and knowledge




What is required by License Holder?

# 15 PDH per renewal period

# 1 PDH in professional ethics per
renewal period — cannot carry over

# 5 PDH max from self-directed study

' . #*Maximum of 14hours may be carried
forward to next year

# Maintain record to support activity
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5@ »i # Maintain record to support activity

# Certify you have completed the CEP
requirement on the yearly renewal form.

# Logsheet available from the board

# Keep certificates, flyers, documentation to
support activities

a P Possibility of audit. Only then will you send in
logsheet and support documentation.

# Keep for 3 years.

How do | report my PDH’s?
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’ Renewal Process
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5@‘ ’*“‘ # Recelve renewal coupon in the mail.

# Check box on right hand side of coupon
Indicating that you have completed 15 hours
of CEP or that you are exempt from CEP.

#* Sign the coupon.
~ #* Return the coupon with payment to board.
# Do not send in log sheets, forms, certificates,




Example of Renewal Coupon

Please detach the coupon portion to return with your remittance.
\°

Texas Board of Professional Engineers

| attest with my signature, under risk of sanction, to the following:
| have completed or | am exempt from 15 hours of continuing education training.
| have met or | am exempt from the criminal history record check requirements.
My contact information is accurate.
| have no criminal convictions or have notified the Board.
| attest that | have no engineering violations in another jurisdiction. Signature

Providing false information is a direct violation of Board Rule 137.63(a) and is subject to disciplinary action including, at a minimum, the immediate
cancellation of the P.E. license renewal, to a maximum of revocation of the license. Refer to the back of this form if you need additional information.

EXEMPTIONS (Optional) - Please read the back of this form for further information. Additional paperwork may be required.
D Inactive Status Industry Exemption Military Service
Exempt from CEP, $200 Prof. Fee & Criminal History Record Check Exempt from $200 Prof. Fee but not CEP Exempt from CEP

D 1st Renewal After Licensure by Exam |:| Disability I:l Over 65
Exempt from CEP Exempt from CEP and $200 Prof. Fee Exempt from $200 Prof. Fee but not CEP

Do not write in this area.




elf-directed study.




q. How DO You Earn PDHS?

» 1. Complete/audit college credit course

#* 2. Complete continuing education courses
# 3. Completion of short course/tutorials

# 4. Present/attend seminars/technical
presentation

# 5. Teaching/instructing above 1 - 4
# 6. Publishing papers, articles, books

#* /. Participation in Professional/Technical
Societies

# 8. Patents issued

# 9. Engaging in self-directed study

# 10. Active participation in educational outreach
activities involving K-12 or higher students.
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. ¥ 1. Complete/audit college credit
P
¢ » (course

# Successful completion or auditing of
college credit course

# 1 College or unit semester hour = 15 PDH
# 1 Unit quarter hour = 10 PDH
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2. Complete continuing education
courses

# Successful completion of continuing
education courses, either offered by a
professional or trade organization, university
or college or offered in-house by a
corporation or other business entity

# 1 Continuing Education Unit = 10 PDH
# Earn 1 PDH per Hour of Contact time




3. Completion of short
course/tutorials

# Successful completion of
correspondence, on-line, televised,
videotaped and other short

courses/tutorials
#*1 CEU =10 PDH

# 1 Hour of contact time = 1 PDH




Q' 4. Present/attend seminars/technical
presentatlon

qualifying seminars, in-
house courses, workshop
professional or technical presentatlons

made at meetings, conventions or
conferences

#1 CEU =10 PDH
# 1 Hour of contact time = 1 PDH




d.
Teaching/instructing
ltems 1 -4

# [eaching or instructing as listed Iin
items 1-4

# Teaching credit valid for the first
time only

#*1 CEU =10 PDH
# 1 Hour of contact time = 1 PDH




Q' 6. Publishing papers, articles, books

~

# Authoring published papers, articles,
books, or accepted licensing
examination items

# Each published paper, article, or book
= 10 PDH




/. Participation in Professional/
Technical Societies

#* Active participation in professional or
technical societies, associations, agencies or
organizations, including:

Elected or appointed official
Serving on a committee

# PDH not earned until end of service year
# 1 PDH not to exceed 5 PDH per organization

# Giving or attending a presentation at a
meeting is considered a separate activity
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‘% 8. Patents issued
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Q- 9. Engaging in self directed study

# One hour of contact time = 1 PDH
# Maximum of 5 PDH per year
#* Critical record keeping

# Examples: Reading of professional or
technical journals

or reference books,
research, etc.







Who is exempt?

# 4 types of exemptions

# Not the same as exemption
from $200 renewal fee

# Board can review and

approve special case
exemptions.




Who is exempt?

# License holders by way of
exam — exempt 18t license
period

# Deployed Military
# Disability or lliness
#* “[nactive” Status
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And in the end..
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# Credit for activities responsibility of license
holder and subject to review

# Board has final authority to audit and review

# [BPE will NOT pre-approve or endorse any
CEP activities

# Credit for qualifying seminars/ workshops
based on contact time




# Self directed study based
on contact time and not to
exceed 5 PDH/year

# Credit for college courses based on college
course credit listed

# Credit for teaching first time only

# PDH credit for being an officer of an
organization not earned until end of year of
service




#1917 S. Interstate 35
#* Austin, TX 78741

# Phone: 512-440-7723

# FAX. 512-442-1414

# \Web: http://engineers.texas.gov
#emall: Info@engineers.texas.gov




Questions

And Answers






