TBPE Logo Skip to main content

Hurricane Harvey

Emergency Temporary License
Emergency Board Rule
Governor's Proclamation
NCEES Exam Provisions
Late Fees


Emergency Temporary P.E. License

In light of Governor Greg Abbott’s August 28, 2017 proclamation declaring a state of disaster caused by Hurricane Harvey affecting multiple counties in Texas, the Texas Board of Professional Engineers developed and passed Board Rule 133.12 providing for the issuance of Emergency Temporary Licenses. This provision will allow an individual licensed in good standing in another US State or Territory to be licensed to practice Professional Engineering only in certain counties in Texas included in the Proclamation by the Governor for a duration of 90 days from the issuance of the license. All applicants must follow all provisions of the Texas Engineering Practice Act, including firm registration requirements (Chapter 135 of the rules) and procurement requirements such as PSPA / QBS (Rule 137.53). Link to TBPE Law & Rules.

The counties included in the Proclamation are: Angelina, Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, Sabine, San Patricio, Trinity, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy and Wilson.

Emergency Temporary License Application Documents
Applications will be accepted through December 4, 2017.

Application must be filled out, printed and mailed in with a check or money order. We do not have an online application for this process and thus can't accept payments with a credit card online nor do we take credit card payments over the phone.

PDF Application Form pdf icon
Word Application Form word icon

NCEES Verification Website
Criminal History Record Check (Fingerprinting)
Ethics Exam

 

Firm Registration
All Engineering Firms must be registered to offer or perform engineering in the state of Texas, including sole practitioners.  Each firm must have at least one full-time Texas PE on staff.  If you are intending on practicing engineering in Texas under the provisions of the Emergency Temporary License, you must work for a Texas registered engineering firm.   See the application form and FAQ below.

Firm Application
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Firm Registration


Emergency Board Rule

133.12. Emergency Temporary License.
(a) Per 1001.310 of the Act and in conjunction with the Proclamation by the Governor of the State of Texas dated August 28, 2017, the board may issue an Emergency Temporary License to individuals who meet the following requirements:

(b) An Emergency Temporary License Application shall consist of the following items:

(c) Except as provided in this section, an Emergency Temporary License holder shall be subject to all other rules, laws, and legal requirements to which a holder of a standard license is subject.
(d) An Emergency Temporary License issued under this section shall be valid for 90 days from the date the license is issued and may not be renewed.
(e) An applicant that has been issued an Emergency Temporary License may apply for a standard license using the standard license application process.
(f) Emergency Temporary License applications may be accepted through December 4, 2017.
(g) Engineers issued an Emergency Temporary License under this section are only permitted to offer or perform engineering services for projects located in the counties included in the Proclamation by the Governor of the State of Texas dated August 28, 2017, and must practice only in their area of competence as demonstrated by education and experience.

Effective September 5, 2017. Expires January 2, 2018.



Governor's Proclamation

Governor Greg Abbott has issued several proclamations in regard to Hurricane Harvey. The latest proclamation issued on August 28, 2017 added additional counties to those listed previously. Refer to: Governor Abbott Hurricane Harvey Proclamation

Additional documents related to Hurricane Harvey are available on their news page at: https://gov.texas.gov/news


 

NCEES Exam Provisions - Contact NCEES at 1-800-250-3196 or http://ncees.org

If you have been adversely affected by Hurricane Harvey and have questions about your October PE exams, contact NCEES directly. The FE exam is computer-based and available year-round. FE exam reservations can be modified at any time online.


 

Renewal Late Fees and CEP Waivers

Firms with an expiration date of August 31, 2017, operating in the counties identified in the Governor’s Proclamation can request a waiver of late fees if they were impacted by the hurricane. Contact a TBPE Licensing Specialist to request late fee waivers at: licensing@engineers.texas.gov.

P.E.s with a September 2017 renewal date and located in the counties identified in the Governor’s Proclamation may also claim a waiver of the CEP requirements if they were not able to complete the continuing education requirements due to the hurricane. When renewing their license using the ECHO Online System, specific language related to this CEP waiver is included in the attestation statements. For P.E.s mailing in checks and paper renewal coupons, please sign and submit the paperwork as normal. If you are subject to an audit, inform the CEP coordinator of your specific situation at the time of the audit.