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TEXAS BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 
Overview of Texas Engineering Practice Act and Board Rules regarding Firm 

Registration 
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Firm Registration 

How long does it take to process an application for registration and receive certification? 
Processing time varies depending on agency workload and completeness of the application. From receipt 
to issuance of a certificate may take 5-6 weeks. We ask for your patience during periods of increased 
application submittals. 

I am a sole practitioner; do I have to register? 
Yes. Section 1001.405 of the Texas Engineering Practice Act requires that a "business entity" which 
engages in the practice of professional engineering in this state must be registered with the Board. A 
“business entity” includes a sole proprietorship, firm, partnership, corporation, or joint stock association. 

I am a sole practitioner; why do I have to list myself as an "officer or director" and include my name as 
the engineer in responsible charge? 

Section 1001.405 of the Act requires the Board to request this information prior to issuing the certificate 
of registration. Therefore, we ask that all entities complete the entire form, even if the task appears 
redundant, so that the registration process clearly complies with the statute. 

Can a P.E. be associated with more than one registered firm? 
Yes. A P.E. can list up to two employment associations in our records and file additional associations with 
our office. The primary association should be the traditional full-time position. The secondary association 
can be for a part-time position. 

Once a firm becomes registered, how long is the registration active and how can it be renewed? 
A registration is active for 1 year. The Board sends out annual renewal invoices approximately 45 days 
prior to the registrations expiration date. If the annual renewal invoice is not received, simply contact the 
Board office to request a duplicate. A registration that is not renewed or postmarked by the registration 
expiration date, may renew by submitting the annual registration renewal invoice sent by the Board and 
include a payment of two (2) times the normal registration renewal fee; along with a statement of whether 
engineering services were offered, pending, and/or performed for the public in Texas during the time the 
registration was not current. If the registration has expired for more than 1 year, it will be necessary to re-
apply for new registration under the current law & rules and shall be issued a new registration number. 

What if the registration has expired for more than one year? 
If a registration has been expired for more than one year, the firm must re-apply for registration under the 
current laws and rules. The new registration will be a different serial number. 

How can a duplicate, additional, or replacement certificate of registration be obtained? 
Duplicate, additional, or replacement certificates can be obtained with a written request and a $5 check 
or money order made payable to the "Texas Board of Professional Engineers". 

How can updates/changes be made to the registration's subsidiary/branch offices, officers/directors, 
and/or full-time P.E. employees? 

The Board requires submittal of a written notification, which identifies the full name and registration 
number to ensure the proper record is updated. These requests can be submitted using available Board 
forms or by letter format. 

Must my consulting firm be registered before it offers engineering services in Texas? 
Yes. Any firm offering consulting engineering services in Texas must be registered before any services 
are offered. 

  



 
Since I am a one-person firm and offer services to just a few clients, do I need to register? 

Yes. Sole practitioners are required to be registered to offer services to any client in Texas. 

When is the deadline for registering a firm? 
The Board was mandated by the Texas Legislature to begin registering firms on January 1, 2000. There 
was an unwritten agreement not to begin enforcing the law until six months after the law went into effect. 
Registration should be obtained as soon as possible. 

Our firm is located in another state; however, we offer engineering services in Texas. Does the law 
require our out-of- state firm register in Texas prior to offering services? 

Yes. Any firm offering engineering services in Texas is required to be registered. 

Is firm registration for use only in Texas? 
Yes. Firm registration is for any entity offering engineering services in Texas only. 

I work full-time during the day and "moonlight" on a part-time basis after hours at my full-time 
employer. Am I required to register to perform a few small projects? 

Yes. 

I am an employee of an entity that does not offer any engineering services to "outside" clients. Are we 
required to register? 

No. Only individuals and entities offering engineering services to the public are required to be register. 

Is registration of an entity a one-time registration? 
No. Annual registration renewal is required and for convenience the Board sends out annual registration 
renewal invoices approximately 45 days prior to the registration expiration date. 

If I do not renew or re-register my firm, can I offer engineering services during the time the registration 
is not current?  

No. You cannot offer engineering services and may be in violation of the TEPA and have disciplinary 
action taken for illegally offering the services. 

Our clients never ask us to seal our drawings. Are we required to register our entity? 
Yes. Further, Professional engineers are required to affix the engineer seal, signature, and date of 
execution to engineering products regardless of the client's wishes. Your firm must also be registered to 
offer engineering services to those clients. 

I am a licensed engineer in Texas and I am employed by an out-of-state entity and do not offer services 
in Texas. Is the entity required to be register? 

No. Only entities and/or individuals offering services in Texas are required to register. 

My entity is not presently offering engineering services in Texas but anticipates offering those services 
in the future. Are we required to register now or can we wait until such time as we anticipate offering 
those services? 

You may wait to register until prior to offering the services. 

Is firm registration and individual licensure the same? 
No. Individual licensure gives the individual person the legal authority to practice engineering. Firm 
registration gives your entity the legal authority to offer your services to the public. 

To obtain registration, do I have to have a current engineering license to practice engineering in 
Texas? 

Yes. Your entity can only be registered if at least one of the engineers in the firm is licensed in Texas. 

I am 67 years old and pay the reduced renewal fee. Is there a reduced fee for registration of an entity 
for individuals over 65 years of age? 

No. The fee reduction (based on age) is only for the renewal fee for your individual P.E. license. 



 
Where do I get the forms to register my entity? 

You may complete, download, and return the form with the required fee from our Website at 
http://engineers.texas.gov/downloads.htm, or contact the Board office at (512) 440-7723 to request the 
forms. 

I am retired, but keep my engineering license current in order to perform engineering services, if 
asked. Am I required to register and also pay the annual renewal fee for my individual engineering 
license? 

Yes. In order for you to offer engineering services to the public in Texas, you must register. To carry out 
the engineering services as offered, you must be a current Texas professional engineer license holder, 
as well. 

Can I include my engineer's license renewal fee, entity registration fee, and/or entity registration 
renewal fee in one check when I renew my engineer license? 

Yes. Please be sure to include P.E. license number, registration number, and/or any other identifying 
information to ensure proper credit. 

Will the Board maintain a record of the registration's information? 
Yes. Once a registration is obtained its information is entered into our database. A listing of registered 
entities may be viewed on the Board's website at http://engineers.texas.gov, or you may contact the 
Board for more information. 

Will the registration fee change? 
Yes, very possible. The Board will analyze the information collected through the years of registration and 
determine a new fee schedule each year. 

Do other Texas licensing boards also require business entity registration? If so, are sole practitioners 
included? What are the fees? 

Yes, the following licensing boards have firm registration requirements that include sole practitioners: 
certified public accountants, professional land surveyors, real estate brokers, private investigators, 
chiropractors, barbers cosmetologists and others. Architectural and pharmaceutical entities are also 
required to register, but these professions do not require that a sole practitioner be registered. There are 
no registration requirements for law firms or medical and dental offices. The fees vary by agency. The 
lowest annual registration fee is $25 and the highest is $250. 
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TEXAS BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 

Firm Registration Guidance Document 
I.   Entities' Legal Name 
List the firm’s/entities' legal name. If the entry is a “dba” list the legal name with the dba, such as: “Joe Smith, P.E., Inc. 
dba A- One Engineering”. Include the physical and mailing address for the corporate or main office and appropriate 
contact information including telephone number, facsimile number, and an e-mail address if available. Under the Public 
Information Act, the Board must release the name, address, and telephone number of your registered firm and other 
information requested on this form; however, e-mail addresses are restricted from disclosure. 
 

II.  Type of Firm and initial Registration Fee 
Select the firm type and submit the corresponding fee. A sole practitioner is a single employee (P.E.) that operates the 
firm. The registration fee set by the Board for Sole Practitioners is $25. Other entities which have more than one 
employee pay a registration fee of $150. 
 

III.  Subsidiary and/or Branch Office(s) offering engineering services to the public in Texas 
List all subsidiary and/or branch offices that offer or perform services in Texas on behalf of the business entity and at least 
one engineer in responsible charge of the engineering work for each office. As required by Section §1001.405 of the 
Texas Engineering Practice Act (TEPA), all engineering work and services must be performed by, done, or directly 
supervised by a professional engineer licensed in Texas who is a regular, full-time employee of the firm. The Board has 
defined “direct supervision” in Board Rule §131.81(10) as the control over and detailed professional knowledge of the 
work prepared under the engineer's supervision. The degree of control should be such that the engineer personally makes 
engineering decisions or personally reviews and approves proposed decisions prior to their implementation. The engineer 
must have control over the decisions either through physical presence or the use of communications devices. If not 
obvious, please include an explanation of how the subsidiary or branch offices meet the requirements of Section 
§1001.405 of the TEPA. 
 
If insufficient room is available to list all the applicable subsidiary or branch offices, please include additional 
pages with the same information. 

 

IV.  Officer(s) and/or Director(s) 
Per Board Rule §135.3(b)(2), each registration must list the officer(s) and/or director(s). If the firm is a sole practitioner, 
please list the officer(s) and if applicable, “sole practitioner” as the Position/Title. 
If insufficient room is available to list all the officers or directors, please include additional pages with the same 
information. 
 

V.  Current full-time employees licensed to practice engineering in Texas who are in responsible 
charge of engineering work on behalf of the firm 
Per Board Rule §135.3(b)(3), each registration holder must list all the currently licensed Texas full-time P.E. employees 
that are authorized to perform or directly supervise engineering work on behalf of the firm. 
Please ensure that each full-time P.E. employee’s individual record with the Board reflects their association with the firm. 
Their employment information may be checked on the Board’s website at http://engineers.texas.gov, under the “P.E.s 
and/or Rosters” tab, of the homepage under “Search for PE”. If the employer information needs correcting, there is an 
Address and/or Employment Change form, which a license holder may fill out on-line, mail or fax to the Board. 
The P.E. of record must be present and/or directly supervise engineering work during the hours of operation for the firm. 
Section §1001.405(f) of the Act allows for a licensed engineer to perform engineering work on a part-time basis and the 
engineer is considered the “full-time” employee of the part-time firm since the engineer is required to be personally 
present during the periods engineering work is performed. 
 
 
Note: If any sections of the registration application are not completed in full and cannot be remedied via telephone, 
facsimile, and/or e- mail, the applicable portions of the application will be returned for resolution and may cause delay in 
processing the registration. 

http://engineers.texas.gov/


 

 

TEXAS BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS 
1917 S. Interstate 35, Austin, Texas  78741-3702 

PH.:  512-440-7723, FAX:  512/442-1414 
E-mail:  info@engineers.texas.gov WebSite:  http://engineers.texas.gov 

 
FIRM REGISTRATION APPLICATION 

 
All information provided by you on this form must be TYPEWRITTEN (HANDWRITTEN APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE 
ACCEPTED.).  This form is for all sole practitioners, partnerships, corporations, and joint stock associations not currently registered 
with the Board.  The form may be completed online, printed out, and mailed with the applicable fee to the Board at the address 
indicated above.  Complete all sections marking N/A when applicable.  The application fee is non-refundable and must be submitted 
with the application in the form of a check or money order (no cash) made payable to the TEXAS BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS (TBPE).  Please refer to the firm guidance document for more detailed instructions. 
 

I. Firm’s Legal Name       

dba (if applicable):       

Employer ID# (EIN):       

 (provided by IRS; leave blank if same as SSN) 

Number of Employees:       

Physical Address:       

 Address City State Zip 

 Mailing address same as physical address 

Mailing Address:       

 Address City State Zip 

Phone:       

Fax:       

Email:       
 
 
II. Type of Firm/Registration Fee: (Select Only One) 

 Sole Practitioner / $25 

 A sole practitioner is a single individual (P.E.) that owns and operates a business.  In 
order to qualify as a sole practitioner, there can only be one employee, the P.E. 

 Firm / $150 
 All other businesses that offer and/or perform engineering services to the public within 

the state of Texas. 
 

 
FOR BOARD USE ONLY  

Fee: Date App & Fee Rec’d: 

F-#: Approved By: Date: 

 

http://engineers.texas.gov/


 
III. Subsidiary and/or Branch Office(s) offering engineering services in Texas:    None or N/A 
(An additional sheet and/or an attached list that includes the following information may be provided, if necessary.) 
 

Office Name 1:       

Mailing Address:       
Phone:       Fax:       
Email:       

Name of Engineer in responsible charge of 
engineering work for Texas in this office:       

 
 

 

IV. Officer(s) or Director(s) of Firm/Sole-practitioner, mandatory per Board Rule §135.3(b)(2): 
(An additional sheet and/or an attached list that includes the following information may be provided, if necessary.) 
 

Name 1:       
Position/Title       

Business Address:       
Phone:       Fax:       

Name 2: 
      

Position/Title       
Business Address:       

Phone:       Fax:       

Name 3: 
      

Position/Title       

Business Address:       
Phone:       Fax:       

 

V. Current Texas P.E.s employed to practice engineering work in Texas on behalf of the firm, mandatory per Board Rule 
§135.3(b)(3): 
(An additional sheet and/or an attached list that includes the following information may be provided, if necessary.) 
 
 

Name 1:       

Business Address:       

Business Phone:        Current Texas P.E.#        

Name 2: 
      

Business Address:       

Business Phone:        Current Texas P.E.#        

Name 3: 
      

Business Address:       
Business Phone:        Current Texas P.E.#        

 

The information submitted herein is true and correct; further, no information has been withheld that might be relevant to this 
application. 

Name of Remitter:       Date:       
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