New Law and Rules Publication - Rule changes were necessary as a result of recent statute changes from the Legislative Session. These rules are effective December 14, 2015. Changes include the following: Removal of the $200 Professional Fee, New Options for Military Service Members, Revised State Contract Guidelines.
REPEAL OF $200 PROFESSIONAL FEE – Effective September 1, 2015, licensed Professional Engineers will no longer pay the $200 Professional Fee associated with license renewals, applications for new PE licenses or reactivation of licenses in inactive status. Refer to the 84th Legislative Session Summary Page for additional details.
WHEN IS A PE REQUIRED ON A BUILDING PROJECT? TBPE developed a flowchart to determine if a Professional Engineer is required when a Texas project involves the design, erection, construction, enlargement, alteration, repair of, or the creation of plans and specs for a building. Use this one page diagrammatic to make sure your project is in compliance with the Texas Engineering Practice Act. It is a great reference for engineers, plan reviewers, city and county officials, and owners.
CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK - Do it now! Don't wait. You will not be able to renew until the Criminal History Record Check requirement has been met. A data file is sent daily to our agency which identifies those who have completed this check. Refer to the linked page for frequently asked questions, links to registration, forms and updated information as it is available.
SOFTWARE ENGINEERING - Read the latest developments in the newly-created examination and industry trends.
TECHNICAL EXPERTS - The Board needs your help! Refer to the linked page for additional information.